Rylee

Rylee is my oldest daughter. She changed my entire world at the age of 19 and has been adding joy to my days ever since.

_DSC0106 - Version 2

If I had to describe Rylee to you in one word it would be joy. She is not only full of excitement, laughter and energy but she is the kind of person that walks in the room and isn’t content until everybody is as happy as she is (which typically means we all have to ask her to calm down and refocus her energy). She is the 5 year old you will see “model walking” through the middle of target and singing at the top of her lungs in the doctors office if her favorite Taylor Swift song comes on. She is full of life, and even though many days that can be exhausting for me as a parent, I am truly learning to love every minute of her giant personality. Why am I telling you all this?

Rylee starts school in August which for me means my little girl and my first born is growing up. She is getting ready to start a new chapter in her life and I couldnt be more excited or nervous for her. I would be lying if I told you I havent shed a few tears already.

image

I am relying on the Lord to give me strength and guidance as I start this new chapter with her as I let her go into the world for the first time and pray that it is gentle on her. I pray that Jesus gives me guidance as she comes home with all the struggles that being a kid will soon bring (bullies, peer pressure and discovering who she is). I pray that these years as she is in school she will know that she can come to me without judgement or fear of my reaction but trust that I will be her sound board and her friend, her safe place. I pray that these years will bring us closer and that she will have teachers who really make an impact on her. I pray that in the end, God’s will is done, that he will have molded her heart, strengthened her spirit and that she will be a stong child of the Lord.

As I finished my quiet time this morning I jumped on the computer before starting my crazy day. I began looking for encouragement as I get prepared to start this new phase of life with my daughter. I dont want to feel helpless as I let her go off into school. I came across this artice titled 10 bible verses to pray over your children and I was reminded that I am not helpless, I will be praying for her everyday and I will have the Lord to rely on for stregnth and guidance. Here are the 10 verse’s she lists and I will be praying –

1. To do what they were created to do– “For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” ~ Ephesians 2:10

2. To have a boldness to embrace their faith- “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” ~ Romans 12:2

3. To live in a manner that is pleasing to Him- “Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.” ~1 Timothy 4:12

4. To have a desire to grow in His wisdom and knowledge- “But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen.” ~ 2 Peter 3:18

5. To accept Christ as Lord and Savior and serve Him- “Therefore I endure everything for the sake of the elect, that they too may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus, with eternal glory.” ~ 2 Timothy 2:10

6. To be respectful- “Show proper respect to everyone, love the family of believers, fear God, honor the emperor.” ~ 1 Peter 2:17

7. To be strong and courageous- “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” ~ Deuteronomy 31:6

8. To possess integrity- “May integrity and uprightness protect me, because my hope, LORD, is in you.” ~ Psalm 25:21

9. To be protected- “When you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet. Have no fear of sudden disaster or of the ruin that overtakes the wicked, for the LORD will be at your side and will keep your foot from being snared.” ~ Proverbs 3:24-26

10. To have a kind heart- “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” ~ Ephesians 4:32

What other verses help you get through these transitions and tough times in your life. How do you encourage and strengthen your children spiritually as the deal with the “real world”. I would love to hear your advice.

image

– Kristina

Leave a Reply

